Independent guidance for life in Japan · Affiliate-supported, never pay-walled

Set Up in Japan Plain answers. Real life.
English

Moving in · Updated September 2026Ad · Affiliate links

Share houses in Tokyo for foreigners: what they cost and who can rent

A furnished private room with a shared kitchen and bathroom, from 1 month, mostly with no deposit or guarantor. Here is what each operator charges to move in, what the monthly fee covers, and who can apply.

Shared dining and living space in a Japanese house
Actual rooms and furnishings vary.
On this page

Tokyo share-house operators compared

Operators first, then listing sites, each group in alphabetical order, not ranked. From each operator's own pages, read September 18, 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the operator's site. Rents are set room by room, so the first-month column lists the fees besides rent instead of a total.

Move-in cost, deposit, monthly fees, minimum stay, who can apply and address registration at each operator
OperatorTo move inFirst month, besides rentDepositEach monthMinimum stayWho can applyRegister your address
Borderless House ¥45,000 (¥30,000 key money and a ¥15,000 cleaning fee) plus the first month¥45,000 (¥30,000 key money, ¥15,000 cleaning fee), plus a utilities and internet fee, billed with the first month's rentNone since March 2026Rent plus a utilities and internet fee, ¥13,000 for a private room at one house we checked1 month; first contract about 11 months, leave with 30 days' noticeAges 18 to 35; no couples. Some rooms are open only to foreign or only to Japanese residentsNot stated
Oakhouse ¥50,000 contract fee for a private room or apartment, not refunded, plus the first month and a ¥2,200 bed pad¥52,200 (¥50,000 contract fee for a private room, ¥2,200 bed pad), plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee each month; Oakhouse does not say whether the first one is billed at bookingNone; no key money or guarantor at houses Oakhouse runsRent plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee covering utilities up to a cap, and free internet1 month; leases of 1 to 6 months, no renewal. 1 month's notice, no penalty18 or over, any valid visa. Some houses are women-onlyIts guide says residents register; no house-by-house policy published
Sakura House No agency fee; 30% of the first month to reserveNo fees stated beyond the stay fee, which covers rent, utilities, internet, furniture and bedding; you pay 30% of the first month's stay fee to reserveNone; no key money or guarantorOne stay fee covering rent, utilities, internet and furniture1 month in general; 1 month's notice to leaveAny status, tourists included; book online from abroad, then check in and sign at its Shinjuku officeYes, stated in its FAQ
Social Apartment Deposit, key money at some buildings, a guarantee company fee, and the first two monthsNot statedYes, based on rent; a set cleaning cost is deductedRent plus a management fee; utilities fixed with shared bathrooms, metered with private ones. Rent by debit from a Japanese bank accountAsks for 6 months; leaving a 1-year plan early costs a month's rentGuarantee company required. Most rooms are unfurnishedNot stated
XROSS HOUSE ¥30,000, not refunded¥30,000 move-in fee for a share house, not refunded, plus a rent-guarantee company's first fee, charged separately and not stated by XROSS HOUSE; then a ¥15,000 common fee and ¥1,500 support fee each monthNone; no key money or agency feeRent plus a flat ¥15,000 covering utilities, free Wi-Fi, and a ¥1,500 support fee1 month; 1-year fixed-term lease, 1 month's noticeAges 18 to 39; no visitors; a rent-guarantee company is requiredYes, stated in its FAQ

Borderless House

To move in
¥45,000 (¥30,000 key money and a ¥15,000 cleaning fee) plus the first month
First month, besides rent
¥45,000 (¥30,000 key money, ¥15,000 cleaning fee), plus a utilities and internet fee, billed with the first month's rent
Deposit
None since March 2026
Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address
Each month
Rent plus a utilities and internet fee, ¥13,000 for a private room at one house we checked
Minimum stay
1 month; first contract about 11 months, leave with 30 days' notice
Who can apply
Ages 18 to 35; no couples. Some rooms are open only to foreign or only to Japanese residents
Register your address
Not stated

Oakhouse

To move in
¥50,000 contract fee for a private room or apartment, not refunded, plus the first month and a ¥2,200 bed pad
First month, besides rent
¥52,200 (¥50,000 contract fee for a private room, ¥2,200 bed pad), plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee each month; Oakhouse does not say whether the first one is billed at booking
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor at houses Oakhouse runs
Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address
Each month
Rent plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee covering utilities up to a cap, and free internet
Minimum stay
1 month; leases of 1 to 6 months, no renewal. 1 month's notice, no penalty
Who can apply
18 or over, any valid visa. Some houses are women-only
Register your address
Its guide says residents register; no house-by-house policy published

Sakura House

To move in
No agency fee; 30% of the first month to reserve
First month, besides rent
No fees stated beyond the stay fee, which covers rent, utilities, internet, furniture and bedding; you pay 30% of the first month's stay fee to reserve
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor
Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address
Each month
One stay fee covering rent, utilities, internet and furniture
Minimum stay
1 month in general; 1 month's notice to leave
Who can apply
Any status, tourists included; book online from abroad, then check in and sign at its Shinjuku office
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ

Social Apartment

To move in
Deposit, key money at some buildings, a guarantee company fee, and the first two months
First month, besides rent
Not stated
Deposit
Yes, based on rent; a set cleaning cost is deducted
Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address
Each month
Rent plus a management fee; utilities fixed with shared bathrooms, metered with private ones. Rent by debit from a Japanese bank account
Minimum stay
Asks for 6 months; leaving a 1-year plan early costs a month's rent
Who can apply
Guarantee company required. Most rooms are unfurnished
Register your address
Not stated

XROSS HOUSE

To move in
¥30,000, not refunded
First month, besides rent
¥30,000 move-in fee for a share house, not refunded, plus a rent-guarantee company's first fee, charged separately and not stated by XROSS HOUSE; then a ¥15,000 common fee and ¥1,500 support fee each month
Deposit
None; no key money or agency fee
Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address
Each month
Rent plus a flat ¥15,000 covering utilities, free Wi-Fi, and a ¥1,500 support fee
Minimum stay
1 month; 1-year fixed-term lease, 1 month's notice
Who can apply
Ages 18 to 39; no visitors; a rent-guarantee company is required
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ

What to check before you book a share house

In a 2017 survey of 1,000 share-house residents by Japan's housing ministry, residents were most satisfied with location and rent and least with privacy, and noise was the most common problem between residents (ministry survey). Ask about these before you pay:

  • What the monthly fee covers. Some operators include utilities only up to a cap and bill the rest.
  • How long the contract runs. Oakhouse leases end after 6 months at most; XROSS HOUSE and Borderless House sign for about a year.
  • What leaving costs. XROSS HOUSE charges ¥16,500 to leave a share house; Borderless House takes a ¥15,000 cleaning fee at the start.
  • Age and gender rules. Borderless House takes ages 18 to 35, XROSS HOUSE share houses 18 to 39, and some Oakhouse houses are women-only.
  • Registering your address. You need it for your residence card and a bank account. Tokyo's Chuo City says it may ask for your contract when it hasn't confirmed a share house as a residence (Chuo City), so keep a copy.

To choose between two of these operators, our Oakhouse vs Sakura House comparison puts their move-in fees, lease length, bedding and check-in side by side.

Oakhouse rents by ward and by station in Tokyo are in Oakhouse Tokyo prices.

Share-house operators in Tokyo

These companies run their own houses: you rent from them directly, with no agency in between.

Borderless House

57 houses, 742 rooms in Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe and Sendai (source).

To move in, First month, besides rent, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address, Languages, Renter quotes
To move in
¥45,000 (¥30,000 key money and a ¥15,000 cleaning fee) plus the first month (source)
First month, besides rent
¥45,000 (¥30,000 key money, ¥15,000 cleaning fee), plus a utilities and internet fee, billed with the first month's rent (source)
Deposit
None since March 2026 (source)
Each month
Rent plus a utilities and internet fee, ¥13,000 for a private room at one house we checked (source)
Minimum stay
1 month; first contract about 11 months, leave with 30 days' notice (source)
Who can apply
Ages 18 to 35; no couples. Some rooms are open only to foreign or only to Japanese residents (source)
Register your address
Not stated
Languages
English site; apply online and by Zoom from abroad (source)

“Borderless requires the people who live there to be the ones who do the cleaning. We have a rota but it isn't always followed”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, June 21, 2025

“But maintenance they tend to send someone the next day when it's an issue.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, June 21, 2025

“As someone who does not speak fluent Japanese, I often felt at a disadvantage.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, July 30, 2026

Go to Borderless House

Oakhouse

133 houses it runs, 4,546 rooms, mostly in Greater Tokyo (source).

To move in, First month, besides rent, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address, Languages
To move in
¥50,000 contract fee for a private room or apartment, not refunded, plus the first month and a ¥2,200 bed pad (source)
First month, besides rent
¥52,200 (¥50,000 contract fee for a private room, ¥2,200 bed pad), plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee each month; Oakhouse does not say whether the first one is billed at booking (source)
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor at houses Oakhouse runs (source)
Each month
Rent plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee covering utilities up to a cap, and free internet (source)
Minimum stay
1 month; leases of 1 to 6 months, no renewal. 1 month's notice, no penalty (source)
Who can apply
18 or over, any valid visa. Some houses are women-only (source)
Register your address
Its guide says residents register; no house-by-house policy published (source)
Languages
Messages 24 hours in English, Japanese, Korean, Chinese and French (source)

See Oakhouse rooms

Opens Oakhouse's site (Japanese; English version too)

Read our Oakhouse review

Sakura House

Tokyo, plus some Kyoto; no Osaka locations (source).

To move in, First month, besides rent, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address, Languages, Renter quotes
To move in
No agency fee; 30% of the first month to reserve (source)
First month, besides rent
No fees stated beyond the stay fee, which covers rent, utilities, internet, furniture and bedding; you pay 30% of the first month's stay fee to reserve (source)
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor (source)
Each month
One stay fee covering rent, utilities, internet and furniture (source)
Minimum stay
1 month in general; 1 month's notice to leave (source)
Who can apply
Any status, tourists included; book online from abroad, then check in and sign at its Shinjuku office (source)
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ (source)
Languages
English-speaking staff; online form in 9 languages (source)

“I’m living in a Sakura house share for a month at the moment and it’s fine. Slightly pricey.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, June 8, 2022

“Sakura house is fine for under 1 year since they do have fantastic locations”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, September 11, 2024

“I highly recommend the smaller houses (under 6 people) versus the large buildings (like in Sendagaya. Too many people!)”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, September 11, 2024

“The house was dirty, trash overflowed, and the bathrooms were unsanitary.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, January 24, 2025

Go to Sakura House

Social Apartment

Private rooms plus large shared lounges, in Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo (source).

A standard lease with shared lounges, not an all-inclusive share-house contract.

To move in, First month, besides rent, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address, Languages
To move in
Deposit, key money at some buildings, a guarantee company fee, and the first two months (source)
First month, besides rent
Not stated
Deposit
Yes, based on rent; a set cleaning cost is deducted (source)
Each month
Rent plus a management fee; utilities fixed with shared bathrooms, metered with private ones. Rent by debit from a Japanese bank account (source)
Minimum stay
Asks for 6 months; leaving a 1-year plan early costs a month's rent (source)
Who can apply
Guarantee company required. Most rooms are unfurnished (source)
Register your address
Not stated
Languages
English-speaking staff by phone (source)

Go to Social Apartment

XROSS HOUSE

About 1,600 properties with 2,900 rooms in September 2026, furnished apartments and share houses, mostly Tokyo, also Osaka, Nagoya and Fukuoka (source).

Facts below are for its share houses; its furnished apartments have different fees.

To move in, First month, besides rent, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Who can apply, Register your address, Languages
To move in
¥30,000, not refunded (source)
First month, besides rent
¥30,000 move-in fee for a share house, not refunded, plus a rent-guarantee company's first fee, charged separately and not stated by XROSS HOUSE; then a ¥15,000 common fee and ¥1,500 support fee each month (source)
Deposit
None; no key money or agency fee (source)
Each month
Rent plus a flat ¥15,000 covering utilities, free Wi-Fi, and a ¥1,500 support fee (source)
Minimum stay
1 month; 1-year fixed-term lease, 1 month's notice (source)
Who can apply
Ages 18 to 39; no visitors; a rent-guarantee company is required (source)
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ (source)
Languages
8 languages including English, Vietnamese and Nepali; open every day (source)

Read our XROSS HOUSE review

Your own apartment instead

A furnished apartment has its own kitchen and bathroom, also from 1 month at some operators, with different move-in and exit fees. Compare them on furnished apartments in Tokyo.

XROSS HOUSE: furnished apartments (not share houses)

Japanese button: “Deposit, key money and agency fee all ¥0 [Cross One Room]” Opens XROSS HOUSE's site (Japanese)

Share houses in Osaka

Of the operators above, Borderless House and Social Apartment have houses in Osaka, and XROSS HOUSE had 10 share houses there when we counted. Oakhouse ran 1 house in Osaka. Sakura House has none. XROSS HOUSE also listed 146 furnished apartments in Osaka; see XROSS HOUSE rents by area.

For rent in Osaka that is not a share house, see apartments in Osaka: median rents and signing costs at four operators.

Share-house listing sites

These sites show houses run by many different companies. They don't manage houses, so rent, fees and rules are set by whoever runs the house you pick.

Shares

English and Japanese share-house search, Tokyo area and Kansai, many operators (source).

Go to Shares

Tokyo Sharehouse

English listings from many operators; it does not manage houses, so terms differ by house (source).

Go to Tokyo Sharehouse

How we checked

Every fee and rule is from the operator's own pages, read on September 18, 2026, each linked. Oakhouse and XROSS HOUSE figures come from our reviews, where we counted every room on their sites. Renter quotes are from Reddit, each linked to the comment.

Oakhouse and XROSS HOUSE have affiliate programs we joined. The Oakhouse and XROSS HOUSE buttons on this page are A8.net affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you sign up through them. The XROSS HOUSE button opens its furnished-apartment page, which is why it sits under "Your own apartment instead". None of the other operators or sites here pay us. Read our editorial policy.

Share houses in Tokyo: FAQ

How much does a share house cost in Tokyo?

Oakhouse's median private room was ¥75,000 a month in total on October 9, 2026; a Borderless House private room we checked was ¥71,000 plus ¥13,000 for utilities.

What do I pay in the first month at a Tokyo share house?

One-off fees, on top of the first month's rent and monthly fees: ¥52,200 at Oakhouse (contract fee and bed pad), ¥45,000 at Borderless House (key money and cleaning fee), and ¥30,000 at a XROSS HOUSE share house (move-in fee) plus a first fee to the rent-guarantee company, which XROSS HOUSE says is charged separately and does not state. Sakura House charges none beyond the stay fee, and takes 30% of the first month's stay fee to reserve. Social Apartment also charges a deposit and a guarantee company fee.

Can foreigners rent a share house in Tokyo without a guarantor?

Yes, without a personal guarantor. Borderless House, Oakhouse, Sakura House and XROSS HOUSE share houses ask for none, but XROSS HOUSE share houses require a rent-guarantee company, as its apartments and Social Apartment do.

Can I register my address at a share house in Japan?

Usually, yes. Sakura House and XROSS HOUSE say so in their FAQs, and Oakhouse's guide tells residents to register. Some city offices ask for your contract first when they haven't confirmed a share house as a residence, so keep a copy.

What is the minimum stay at a Tokyo share house?

One month at Borderless House, Oakhouse, Sakura House and XROSS HOUSE. Social Apartment asks for 6 months.

Are there age limits for share houses in Japan?

Some operators have them: Borderless House takes ages 18 to 35, and XROSS HOUSE share houses 18 to 39. Oakhouse takes anyone 18 or over.