Credit cards · Updated October 2026Ad · Affiliate links
Credit cards you may apply for as a foreign resident
Yes, you may apply. The issuers of 8 of these 9 cards say foreign residents living in Japan may apply, and each still screens your application. A short period of stay left can stop an application: Saison, JP BANK and others say so on their own pages. Most also need a Japanese phone number and a bank account in your name. No bank account yet? The Nexus Global Card doesn't need one.
On this page
Which credit card should I try first?
Start from what you already have. This matches each card's published conditions to your situation. It is not a ranking, because no issuer publishes approval rates.
| You have | Look at |
|---|---|
| No Japanese bank account yet | Nexus Global Card (deposit card), which needs no bank account. It asks for your residence card and a 住民票 (certificate of residence). To open an account first, see the bank account guide. |
| A bank account in your name and a Japanese mobile number | Rakuten Card (free, form in Japanese), EPOS Card (free, residence card accepted) and PayPay Card (needs steady income). |
| A Japan Post Bank account | JP BANK Card, which needs that account and its cash card. |
| A short stay left, or a refusal already | A debit or prepaid card, which skips credit screening. Debit and prepaid cards. |
EPOS Card is free, accepts a residence card, and its sign-up page is in Japanese. It fits you if you live in Japan, are 18 or older and are not in high school.
The EPOS Card guide compares the regular card with the GTN EPOS Card and explains the residence card check.
Apply for EPOS Card
Opens EPOS Card's site (Japanese)
Which Japanese credit cards accept foreign residents?
The issuers of 8 of the 9 cards below say so on their own pages, and each still screens your application. None asks for permanent residency.
| Card | Foreign residents | Fee | Points |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saison Card (MUJI Card and others) | May apply | Free (¥1,650 if unused for a year) | 1 point per ¥1,000 a month |
| American Express (Japan) | May apply | ¥1,100 a month | 1 point per ¥100 |
| Rakuten Card | May apply | Free | 1% (1 point per ¥100) |
| Nexus Global Card (deposit card) | May apply | Not stated | Not stated |
| JP BANK Card | May apply | Free if used once a year (else ¥1,375) | 0.5% |
| EPOS Card | May apply | Free | 1 point per ¥200 |
| PayPay Card | May apply | Free | 1% after setup in the PayPay app; 0.5% on utilities |
| AEON Card | Checking | Free | 1 WAON POINT per ¥200 |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) (三井住友カード(NL)) | May apply | Free (年会費永年無料) | – |
Saison Card (MUJI Card and others)
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free (¥1,650 if unused for a year)
- Points
- 1 point per ¥1,000 a month
American Express (Japan)
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- ¥1,100 a month
- Points
- 1 point per ¥100
Rakuten Card
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free
- Points
- 1% (1 point per ¥100)
Nexus Global Card (deposit card)
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Not stated
- Points
- Not stated
JP BANK Card
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free if used once a year (else ¥1,375)
- Points
- 0.5%
EPOS Card
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free
- Points
- 1 point per ¥200
PayPay Card
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free
- Points
- 1% after setup in the PayPay app; 0.5% on utilities
AEON Card
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free
- Points
- 1 WAON POINT per ¥200
Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) (三井住友カード(NL))
- Foreign residents
- Accepted
- Fee
- Free (年会費永年無料)
- Points
- –
How much time must your visa have left to get a credit card?
It depends on the issuer, and the issuers measure different things: the time left on your period of stay, the length of your stay, or how long you have lived here. The shortest requirement is 3 months and the longest is a year.
| Card | What the issuer says about your stay |
|---|---|
| AEON Bank debit card | Refused if less than 3 months remain on your period of stay (Source: AEON Bank) |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) (三井住友カード(NL)) | SMBC's own guide says foreign residents can apply if they meet its conditions, including a stay in Japan of 3 months or more (Source: Sumitomo Mitsui Card) |
| Saison Card (MUJI Card and others) | Stays under 6 months may be refused. (Source: Credit Saison) |
| Sony Bank WALLET | Non-Japanese nationals need to have lived in Japan 6 months or more (Source: Sony Bank) |
| JP BANK Card | Yes, unless your period of stay on file with Japan Post Bank ends within 1 year. (Source: Japan Post Bank) |
AEON Bank and Sony Bank are debit cards, so a debit card does not remove the stay rules. The prepaid options are under debit and prepaid cards.
What blocks a foreign resident's application
Card companies do not say why they refuse an application, so these are the conditions the issuers publish themselves.
- No Japanese bank account in your name
-
- Saison Card (MUJI Card and others): Bank account in your name (Source: Credit Saison)
- JP BANK Card: A Japan Post Bank account and cash card are required (Source: Japan Post Bank)
- No Japanese phone number that takes calls
-
- Saison Card (MUJI Card and others): Japanese phone number (Source: Credit Saison)
- Rakuten Card: A mobile number in your own name is required (Source: Rakuten Card)
- No steady income
-
- Nexus Global Card (deposit card): 18 or older with a stable income (Source: Nexus Card)
- PayPay Card: Lives in Japan, 18 or older, stable income, a mobile phone that can receive identity checks (Source: PayPay Card)
No credit history in Japan
Japanese card companies check CIC, the credit bureau for Japanese credit contracts. Card companies decide on their own criteria. CIC does not screen and cannot say why an application was refused. A card application stays on your credit file for 6 months (CIC).
- Apply for one card at a time. Applying for several cards in a short time can affect screening.
- Expect a call. The card company may call your workplace to confirm you work there.
- Check your phone number. A wrong phone number that stops them reaching you can lead to a refusal (Rakuten Card).
What to do if your credit card application was refused
CIC does not screen applications, and it says it cannot tell you why one was refused (CIC). What you can do is ask CIC for your own credit file, which shows what card companies see.
- Ask CIC for your credit information. CIC's credit information disclosure lets you see your contracts with its member companies and your payment status. The disclosure also lists your applications: the company you applied with, the date it checked and the planned contract amount (CIC).
- Have two documents ready. Checking your own file by post costs ¥1,500; residence card accepted. A disclosure request by post needs two identity documents, one from each of two groups. One of the two must be an original certificate of residence (住民票), seal registration certificate or supplementary family register (戸籍の附票, koseki no fuhyo) issued in the past three months (CIC, disclosure by post).
- Expect Japanese. CIC does not provide the disclosure report in English.
- Use a card that does not need a credit history for now. A debit card spends money from your own Japanese bank account, and a prepaid card needs no bank account. See debit and prepaid cards.
Each card: what you need
Saison Card (MUJI Card and others)
Foreign residents may apply
- Live in Japan
- Japanese phone number
- Bank account in your name
- Valid residence card
Stays under 6 months may be refused.
American Express (Japan)
Foreign residents may apply
- Live in Japan
- Age 20 or older
- Mobile number (no landline needed)
Rakuten Card
Foreign residents may apply
- Live in Japan
- Age 18 or older
- Mobile number in your name
Application form is in Japanese.
Nexus Global Card (deposit card)
Foreign residents may apply
- Residence card
- 住民票 (certificate of residence) from the last 3 months
- A deposit (Nexus sets the amount)
No bank account needed. Form in English.
JP BANK Card
Foreign residents may apply
- Japan Post Bank account
- Stay of more than 1 year left
EPOS Card
Foreign residents may apply
- Live in Japan
- Age 18 or older
- Residence card
Apply for EPOS Card
Opens EPOS Card's site (Japanese)
PayPay Card
Foreign residents may apply
- Live in Japan
- Age 18 or older
- Stable income
- Mobile phone
AEON Card
Checking whether foreign residents may apply
- Residence card (standard card)
AEON Card Select online needs Japanese ID.
Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) (三井住友カード(NL))
Foreign residents may apply
- 18 or older, not a high-school student (18歳以上(高校生を除く))
JCB Card W and dカード (d Card) accept a residence card as ID but say nothing about foreign applicants, so they are left out.
Refused, or not ready yet: debit and prepaid cards
A debit card spends money from your Japanese bank account; a prepaid card needs no bank account. Neither builds a credit history, and fiber home internet still needs a credit card.
To pay by phone with no card at all, you can top up PayPay with cash at Seven Bank and Lawson Bank ATMs. See PayPay for foreigners.
Debit cards
Yucho Debit (Japan Post Bank)
- Japan Post Bank account
Account app in English.
Olive (SMBC)
- Residence card
From 18, opening includes a credit application.
Rakuten Bank debit card
- Rakuten Bank account
- Age 16 or older
Card issued under 6 months ago: add proof of 6 months or work.
AEON Bank debit card
- Open the account at a branch
- More than 3 months left on your stay
Sony Bank WALLET
- 6 months or more in Japan
English online banking ended in March 2026.
Prepaid cards
What to have ready before you apply
- Your residence card with your current address registered at the city office. See the residence card guide.
- A Japanese phone number that takes calls. Some card companies verify it by phone, so an 050 internet-phone number may not pass. Compare phone plans.
- A bank account in your name, unless you apply for the Nexus Global Card. See the six-month bank rule.
Residence cards issued from 14 June 2026 are a new format; AEON is the only issuer here that names it as accepted ID. The residence card verification tracker lists which sign-ups refuse it online.
Ready? EPOS Card application (in Japanese)
Opens EPOS Card's site (Japanese)
Credit card FAQ
Can foreigners get a credit card in Japan?
Yes, you may apply. Saison, American Express, Rakuten, EPOS, Nexus and JP BANK say foreign residents may apply, and each decides after its own screening. You need to live in Japan, and most cards also need a Japanese phone number and a bank account in your name.
Which credit card can I get with no bank account in Japan?
The Nexus Global Card, a deposit card only for foreign residents. Nexus sets the deposit and tells you the amount.
How much time must my visa have left to get a credit card in Japan?
It depends on the issuer. AEON Bank refuses its debit card with less than 3 months left on your stay, Saison may refuse a stay under 6 months, and JP BANK refuses a stay that ends within a year. The table under “How much time must your visa have left” has each issuer’s wording.
What can I do if my credit card application was refused in Japan?
Ask CIC, the credit bureau, for your own credit file. It shows your contracts, your payment status and the applications on record. By post it costs ¥1,500, and the report is in Japanese. Debit and prepaid cards are listed under “Refused, or not ready yet”.
Why was my credit card application rejected in Japan?
Card companies do not give reasons. CIC, the credit bureau they check, says having no credit information is one factor they weigh, and each application stays on your file for 6 months.
Do I need permanent residency for a Japanese credit card?
No card on this page asks for permanent residency. Saison may refuse a stay under 6 months, and JP BANK refuses one that ends within a year.
What is the best credit card for foreigners in Japan?
No issuer publishes approval rates, so we do not rank cards by quality or by odds. Choose by what you already have: no bank account points to the Nexus Global Card, a bank account and a Japanese mobile number to Rakuten Card, EPOS Card or PayPay Card, and a Japan Post Bank account to JP BANK Card. The table under "Which credit card should I try first?" sets this out.
Is there a free credit card for foreigners in Japan?
Yes. Rakuten Card, EPOS Card, PayPay Card and AEON Card have no annual fee, and SMBC says its NL card is free. Saison Card: Free (¥1,650 if unused for a year). JP BANK Card: Free if used once a year (else ¥1,375). American Express: ¥1,100 a month.
Can foreigners get a Visa credit card in Japan?
Yes, if the issuer accepts you. EPOS Card is a Visa card, and Saison Card comes as Visa or American Express. Rakuten Bank's debit card is Visa. We have not recorded the brand for the other cards, so check the options on the application page.
Can foreigners apply for a Rakuten Card?
Yes. Rakuten asks residents without Japanese nationality for a residence card during screening. A mobile number in your own name is required. Application is in Japanese; the English app page links to the Japanese form.
Can foreigners get a Yucho debit card?
Yes. Japan Post Bank says foreign nationals with a home in Japan can open an account, and Yucho Debit has no entry fee and no annual fee. Its account-opening app has an English version. The other debit cards are listed further down this page.
What can I use if I cannot get a credit card yet?
A debit card from a Japanese bank, or a prepaid card such as Vandle Card (バンドルカード) or Kyash, which have no screening. Fiber internet and some other bills still need a credit card.
Source
Quoted from each issuer.
Every condition comes from the card company's, bank's or credit bureau's own page, linked on each card, read between September 28 and October 3, 2026. We may earn a commission if you sign up for EPOS Card through our link; that does not change what this page says. How this site is checked.