Independent guidance for life in Japan · Affiliate-supported, never pay-walled

Set Up in Japan Plain answers. Real life.
English

Home internet · Updated October 2026Ad · Affiliate links

Home internet in Japan: English support and sign-up rules

Both GMO options here need a credit card. Without a Japanese one, ahamo can take payment from a Japanese bank account in your name, and a prepaid SIM needs neither. With one, the home router works the day it arrives, and fiber costs less a month if your lease runs past three years.

¥4,290 GMO fiber, apartment, per month36 mo before install is freeCard only both GMO options

Which sounds like you?

The four options

Blocked for many arrivals

GMO Tokutoku BB Hikari (GMO Hikari Access)

Fiber

¥4,290 / month for an apartment, ¥5,390 for a house

  • Costs less a month than the home router, and no cancellation fee
  • Japanese credit card only; debit cards refused
  • Engineer visit and landlord permission required; 2 to 3 weeks to start at the fastest
  • Installation ¥25,300–¥26,400, only waived if you stay 36 months

Get fiber for less a month than the home router

Japanese button: “Simply cheap and fast: GMO Tokutoku BB Hikari (fiber)!” Opens GMO Tokutoku BB's site (Japanese)

Check your card date

ahamo

Mobile data

¥2,970 / month for 30GB, ¥4,950 for 110GB. From 1 December 2026: ¥3,135 for up to 40GB, rising with use to ¥5,115 for 120GB

  • Nothing to install, no landlord involved
  • Lowest monthly price of the three
  • Pays by credit card or from a bank account in your own name; some debit cards work
  • Second-generation residence cards fail online verification
  • Online only, no shop support, application mainly in Japanese
No Japanese card needed

Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi

Home router

¥7,678 a month, unlimited data

  • Takes credit and debit cards issued abroad; cash at convenience stores with a deposit
  • No engineer visit, so no landlord permission
  • Sign-up and support in English
  • Costs more a month than either GMO option, plus a ¥5,500 initial fee
  • No early cancellation fee; the router is rented

What each option costs and needs

Prices include tax unless the cell says otherwise. Each figure links the provider page it came from and the day we read it.

Price, fees, cancellation fee, accepted ID, payment, English support and activation wait for each home internet option
Provider PriceUpfront costsCancellation feeAccepted IDPaymentEnglish supportActivation wait
GMO Tokutoku BB Home Wi-Fi Home router ¥5,687 a month (tax incl.) ¥5,170 before tax. Provider page, read October 5, 2026 ¥3,300 administration fee. The ¥33,264 router is billed over 36 months and offset by a monthly discount Provider page, read September 17, 2026 Unclear. The price table says no cancellation fee, but a note says one applies after the router arrives. Unpaid router installments are due when you cancel Provider page, read September 17, 2026 Checking Credit card only. GMO lists cards issued in Japan Whether a card issued outside Japan works is not stated. Provider page, read September 17, 2026 Checking Ships the same day at the fastest Provider page, read September 17, 2026
GMO Tokutoku BB Hikari (GMO Hikari Access) Fiber ¥4,290 a month for an apartment, ¥5,390 for a house (1 Gbps) Provider page, read September 17, 2026 ¥3,300 fee. Installation ¥25,300 to ¥26,400, discounted over 36 months Provider page, read September 17, 2026 No cancellation fee. Leave within 36 months and the rest of the installation fee is billed at once Provider page, read September 17, 2026 Residence card accepted when GMO asks for ID GMO's eKYC help page, used only when GMO emails a request for ID. It does not say whether residence cards issued from 14 June 2026 work. Provider page, read September 17, 2026 Credit cards issued in Japan only. No debit cards, bank transfer or account debit Provider page, read September 17, 2026 Checking 2 to 3 weeks at the fastest for a new line. It can take 1 to 2 months or more Provider page, read September 17, 2026
ahamo Mobile data ¥2,970 a month for 30GB, and the 80GB add-on is ¥1,980 more until 30 November 2026. From 1 December 2026: ¥3,135 for up to 40GB, rising with use to ¥5,115 for 120GB Provider page, read October 3, 2026 No contract fee Provider page, read October 3, 2026 ¥1,100 if you cancel within a year (lines opened from 1 July 2025) Provider page, read October 3, 2026 Residence card accepted online if the address on its front is your current one, except second-generation cards and cards that double as a My Number card (特定在留カード) issued from 14 June 2026 An address update written on the back does not count. ahamo's support chat told a mystery shopper in-person sign-up for the new cards is at electronics retailers, not docomo shops, and it had no list of which stores take it. Provider page, read October 3, 2026 Credit card or a bank account in your own name. Some debit cards work. Cards issued abroad may be refused ahamo's chat says less than 3 months left on your period of stay is accepted only when you pay by a credit card in your own name. Provider page, read October 3, 2026 No English support Asked in ahamo's support chat. Provider's reply to a mystery shopper, September 17, 2026 About 4 days at the fastest for a SIM. Same day to 3 days for an eSIM Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi Home router ¥7,678 a month, unlimited data Speed and coverage depend on the 5G/4G signal where you live, Sakura Mobile says. Provider page, read October 3, 2026 ¥5,500 initial fee. No installation Provider page, read October 3, 2026 No early cancellation fee. The router is rented Provider page, read October 3, 2026 Residence card with your current address for delivery. A passport is enough for pickup at the Shinjuku office The same guide says delivery needs a residence card showing your current address. Provider page, read October 3, 2026 Credit or debit card, including cards issued abroad. No bank transfer or prepaid cards Cash at convenience stores (Smart Pit) is possible with a deposit of two months' fees. Provider page, read October 3, 2026 English for sign-up and support Provider page, read October 3, 2026 Delivered to your address within a few days; it works once plugged in Provider page, read October 3, 2026

GMO Tokutoku BB Home Wi-Fi Home router

Price
¥5,687 a month (tax incl.) ¥5,170 before tax. Provider page, read October 5, 2026
Upfront costs
¥3,300 administration fee. The ¥33,264 router is billed over 36 months and offset by a monthly discount Provider page, read September 17, 2026
Cancellation fee
Unclear. The price table says no cancellation fee, but a note says one applies after the router arrives. Unpaid router installments are due when you cancel Provider page, read September 17, 2026
Accepted ID
Checking
Payment
Credit card only. GMO lists cards issued in Japan Whether a card issued outside Japan works is not stated. Provider page, read September 17, 2026
English support
Checking
Activation wait
Ships the same day at the fastest Provider page, read September 17, 2026

GMO Tokutoku BB Hikari (GMO Hikari Access) Fiber

Price
¥4,290 a month for an apartment, ¥5,390 for a house (1 Gbps) Provider page, read September 17, 2026
Upfront costs
¥3,300 fee. Installation ¥25,300 to ¥26,400, discounted over 36 months Provider page, read September 17, 2026
Cancellation fee
No cancellation fee. Leave within 36 months and the rest of the installation fee is billed at once Provider page, read September 17, 2026
Accepted ID
Residence card accepted when GMO asks for ID GMO's eKYC help page, used only when GMO emails a request for ID. It does not say whether residence cards issued from 14 June 2026 work. Provider page, read September 17, 2026
Payment
Credit cards issued in Japan only. No debit cards, bank transfer or account debit Provider page, read September 17, 2026
English support
Checking
Activation wait
2 to 3 weeks at the fastest for a new line. It can take 1 to 2 months or more Provider page, read September 17, 2026

ahamo Mobile data

Price
¥2,970 a month for 30GB, and the 80GB add-on is ¥1,980 more until 30 November 2026. From 1 December 2026: ¥3,135 for up to 40GB, rising with use to ¥5,115 for 120GB Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Upfront costs
No contract fee Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Cancellation fee
¥1,100 if you cancel within a year (lines opened from 1 July 2025) Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Accepted ID
Residence card accepted online if the address on its front is your current one, except second-generation cards and cards that double as a My Number card (特定在留カード) issued from 14 June 2026 An address update written on the back does not count. ahamo's support chat told a mystery shopper in-person sign-up for the new cards is at electronics retailers, not docomo shops, and it had no list of which stores take it. Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Payment
Credit card or a bank account in your own name. Some debit cards work. Cards issued abroad may be refused ahamo's chat says less than 3 months left on your period of stay is accepted only when you pay by a credit card in your own name. Provider page, read October 3, 2026
English support
No English support Asked in ahamo's support chat. Provider's reply to a mystery shopper, September 17, 2026
Activation wait
About 4 days at the fastest for a SIM. Same day to 3 days for an eSIM Provider page, read October 3, 2026

Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi Home router

Price
¥7,678 a month, unlimited data Speed and coverage depend on the 5G/4G signal where you live, Sakura Mobile says. Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Upfront costs
¥5,500 initial fee. No installation Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Cancellation fee
No early cancellation fee. The router is rented Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Accepted ID
Residence card with your current address for delivery. A passport is enough for pickup at the Shinjuku office The same guide says delivery needs a residence card showing your current address. Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Payment
Credit or debit card, including cards issued abroad. No bank transfer or prepaid cards Cash at convenience stores (Smart Pit) is possible with a deposit of two months' fees. Provider page, read October 3, 2026
English support
English for sign-up and support Provider page, read October 3, 2026
Activation wait
Delivered to your address within a few days; it works once plugged in Provider page, read October 3, 2026

“Checking” means the provider's own pages don't confirm that detail yet.

On this page

Which home internet options have English support?

Only Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi says it supports English, for sign-up and for support. ahamo told a mystery shopper on 17 September 2026 that it has no English support. The GMO pages we read do not state a support language. GMO's help for people who have not signed up is an FAQ and an AI chat, and a mystery shopper who tried on 17 September 2026 reached no person through either.

The card rule

Both GMO options need a credit card. GMO fiber accepts only credit cards issued in Japan, and its terms say debit cards cannot be used. GMO's home router FAQ says payment is by credit card only and lists cards issued in Japan. It does not say whether a card issued abroad works, so plan as if you need a Japanese credit card.

Why this blocks new arrivals

Card companies count having no Japanese credit history as one factor when they screen an application, the credit bureau CIC says, and several say foreign residents can apply: see credit cards that accept foreign residents.

The residence card change

If your residence card or special permanent resident certificate was issued on or after 14 June 2026, it is a second-generation card and cannot be used for ahamo's online identity check. ahamo's notice says to apply at a retailer running an ahamo sign-up fair instead.

Recent arrivals are the people most likely to hold one of these cards. See which other sign-ups refuse the new card.

If you only need data now

A phone plan or a prepaid SIM covers you until home internet is set up. Prepaid SIMs have no credit check.

What we'd choose

No Japanese credit card: Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi, which takes cards issued abroad and costs the most a month of the four. If you have a Japanese bank account and only need data on your phone, ahamo can take payment from it; check the residence card rule above first. A prepaid SIM gets you online without a credit check.

A Japanese credit card, but no landlord permission or a short lease: the home router. It needs no engineer visit and works the day it arrives.

Japanese credit card and a lease past three years: fiber. GMO Tokutoku BB Hikari (GMO Hikari Access) at ¥4,290 costs less a month than the home router. You need both: without the card you cannot pay, and if you leave before 36 months you pay the installation fee.

Home internet FAQ

Which home internet providers in Japan have English support?

Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi does: it says sign-up and support are in English. ahamo told a mystery shopper it has no English support. The GMO pages we read do not state a support language, so its cells say Checking.

How long does it take to start home internet in Japan?

A home router ships the same day at the fastest, GMO says, and works when it arrives. Fiber takes 2 to 3 weeks at the fastest and can take 1 to 2 months or more. ahamo takes about 4 days for a SIM and from the same day to 3 days for an eSIM.

Is there a cancellation fee for home internet in Japan?

GMO fiber has none, but leaving within 36 months bills the rest of the installation fee at once. GMO’s pages disagree on whether the home router has one, and unpaid router installments are due when you cancel. ahamo charges ¥1,100 if you cancel within a year. Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi has no early cancellation fee, and its router is rented.

Can I get home internet in Japan without a Japanese credit card?

Yes. Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi takes credit and debit cards issued abroad, at ¥7,678 a month plus a ¥5,500 initial fee, and cash at convenience stores with a deposit. Neither GMO option does, and ahamo can take payment from a Japanese bank account in your own name.

Does a new residence card work for online sign-up?

Not for ahamo’s online check. With a card issued on or after 14 June 2026 you apply in person, and ahamo’s support chat told a mystery shopper that means an electronics retailer, not a docomo shop. Our residence card verification tracker lists the other sign-ups that refuse the new card.

Do I need my landlord’s permission for internet in Japan?

For fiber, yes: an engineer installs cabling, and GMO fiber takes 2 to 3 weeks to start at the fastest. A home router plugs into a power socket, so it needs no permission and moves with you.

How we choose

Sorted by what you can sign up for.

The GMO options have an affiliate program we joined; ahamo and Sakura Mobile Home Wi-Fi are listed without an advertising link. We sort by what you can pay for and install, then by monthly price. Every figure comes from the provider's own page, and anything unconfirmed says checking.

Last reviewed October 5, 2026. Sources: GMO fiber pricing, GMO home Wi-Fi, GMO home Wi-Fi payment, ahamo, Sakura Mobile prices. How this site is checked.