Independent guidance for life in Japan · Affiliate-supported, never pay-walled

Set Up in Japan Plain answers. Real life.
English

Moving in · Updated September 2026Ad · Affiliate links

Furnished apartments in Tokyo: what moving in and out costs

Your own furnished apartment from 1 or 2 months, with no personal guarantor. Leopalace and XROSS HOUSE still require a rent-guarantee company, which charges a fee. The monthly rent is only part of it: move-in, exit and utility charges differ a lot between operators.

Compact studio with a bed, desk and appliances
Actual rooms and furnishings vary.
On this page

Tokyo furnished apartment operators compared

Operators first, then a listing site, each group in alphabetical order, not ranked. From each operator's own pages, read September 18, 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the operator's site.

Move-in cost, deposit, monthly charges, minimum stay, exit charges and address registration at each operator
OperatorTo move inDepositEach monthMinimum stayLeavingRegister your address
Fontana (Tokyo City Apartments) ¥30,000 service fee for an apartment if rent starts within 21 days, ¥40,000 within 30; not refunded. Insurance is ¥2,000 a month or ¥7,500 for 6 months1 month's rent, refunded minus a cleaning fee of ¥25,000 to ¥50,000Rent with internet and utilities up to a limit (¥15,000 unless listed)2 months for apartments. The lease is for 1 year and renews automatically with no feeCleaning fee of ¥25,000 to ¥50,000 taken from the depositNot stated
Hmlet A one-time service fee and cleaning fee; amounts not publishedNone; no key money, agency fee or guarantorUtilities and Wi-Fi included in the monthly fee1 month; up to 12 monthsNot statedYes, stated on its site
Leopalace ¥234,705 in its own lease example at ¥50,000 rent, plus a guarantee company feeNone; key money varies by propertyMonthly contracts include utilities and internet; on a lease you pay them yourself30 days on a monthly contract (up to 365); leases run over 1 yearCleaning fee ¥52,250 or more, paid at signing; 1 month's rent if you leave a lease within a yearNot stated
Oakhouse ¥50,000 contract fee, not refunded, plus the first month and a ¥2,200 bed padNone; no key money or guarantor at houses Oakhouse runsRent plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee covering utilities up to a cap, and free internet1 month; leases of 1 to 6 months, no renewal. 1 month's notice, no penaltyNo fixed fee; damage and cigarette smell are chargedIts guide says residents register; no house-by-house policy published
Sakura House No agency fee; 30% of the first month to reserveNone; no key money or guarantorOne stay fee covering rent, utilities, internet and furniture1 month in general; 1 month's notice to leave1 month's notice; clean the room and leave the key inside by 11:00. No move-out fee statedYes, stated in its FAQ
XROSS HOUSE ¥50,000, or ¥30,000 under the current campaign, not refunded, plus a guarantee company's feeNone; no key money or agency feeRent plus a ¥1,500 support fee; you set up utilities and internet yourself1 month; 1-year fixed-term lease, 1 month's notice¥55,000 whenever you leaveYes, stated in its FAQ

Fontana (Tokyo City Apartments)

To move in
¥30,000 service fee for an apartment if rent starts within 21 days, ¥40,000 within 30; not refunded. Insurance is ¥2,000 a month or ¥7,500 for 6 months
Deposit
1 month's rent, refunded minus a cleaning fee of ¥25,000 to ¥50,000
Each month
Rent with internet and utilities up to a limit (¥15,000 unless listed)
Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address
Minimum stay
2 months for apartments. The lease is for 1 year and renews automatically with no fee
Leaving
Cleaning fee of ¥25,000 to ¥50,000 taken from the deposit
Register your address
Not stated

Hmlet

To move in
A one-time service fee and cleaning fee; amounts not published
Deposit
None; no key money, agency fee or guarantor
Each month
Utilities and Wi-Fi included in the monthly fee
Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address
Minimum stay
1 month; up to 12 months
Leaving
Not stated
Register your address
Yes, stated on its site

Leopalace

To move in
¥234,705 in its own lease example at ¥50,000 rent, plus a guarantee company fee
Deposit
None; key money varies by property
Each month
Monthly contracts include utilities and internet; on a lease you pay them yourself
Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address
Minimum stay
30 days on a monthly contract (up to 365); leases run over 1 year
Leaving
Cleaning fee ¥52,250 or more, paid at signing; 1 month's rent if you leave a lease within a year
Register your address
Not stated

Oakhouse

To move in
¥50,000 contract fee, not refunded, plus the first month and a ¥2,200 bed pad
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor at houses Oakhouse runs
Each month
Rent plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee covering utilities up to a cap, and free internet
Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address
Minimum stay
1 month; leases of 1 to 6 months, no renewal. 1 month's notice, no penalty
Leaving
No fixed fee; damage and cigarette smell are charged
Register your address
Its guide says residents register; no house-by-house policy published

Sakura House

To move in
No agency fee; 30% of the first month to reserve
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor
Each month
One stay fee covering rent, utilities, internet and furniture
Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address
Minimum stay
1 month in general; 1 month's notice to leave
Leaving
1 month's notice; clean the room and leave the key inside by 11:00. No move-out fee stated
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ

XROSS HOUSE

To move in
¥50,000, or ¥30,000 under the current campaign, not refunded, plus a guarantee company's fee
Deposit
None; no key money or agency fee
Each month
Rent plus a ¥1,500 support fee; you set up utilities and internet yourself
Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address
Minimum stay
1 month; 1-year fixed-term lease, 1 month's notice
Leaving
¥55,000 whenever you leave
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ

The costs besides rent

  • Move-in fee. Fontana (¥30,000 to ¥40,000), Oakhouse (¥50,000) and XROSS HOUSE (¥30,000 to ¥50,000) don't refund theirs. Leopalace's own lease example comes to ¥234,705 with key money, cleaning and the first month.
  • Exit fee. XROSS HOUSE charges ¥55,000 whenever you leave. Leopalace takes a cleaning fee of ¥52,250 or more at signing. Fontana deducts ¥25,000 to ¥50,000 cleaning from your deposit.
  • Utilities. Hmlet and Sakura House include them. Fontana and Oakhouse include them up to a cap. At XROSS HOUSE and on a Leopalace lease you set them up and pay them yourself.
  • Guarantee company. Leopalace and XROSS HOUSE require one, with its own fee and screening.

For a stay of a few months, add these up for the whole stay, not just the first month. Our XROSS HOUSE review does this for 1, 3, 6 and 12 months. To compare 1, 3, 6 and 12 months against an ordinary lease, see monthly apartment in Tokyo or a lease.

Furnished apartment operators in Tokyo

These companies rent out their own furnished apartments: you deal with them directly, with no agency fee.

Fontana (Tokyo City Apartments)

Tokyo; 69 listings live when we checked (source).

Listings ran from ¥60,000 to ¥280,000 a month on its site on September 18, 2026.

To move in, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address, Languages, Renter quotes
To move in
¥30,000 service fee for an apartment if rent starts within 21 days, ¥40,000 within 30; not refunded. Insurance is ¥2,000 a month or ¥7,500 for 6 months (source)
Deposit
1 month's rent, refunded minus a cleaning fee of ¥25,000 to ¥50,000 (source)
Each month
Rent with internet and utilities up to a limit (¥15,000 unless listed) (source)
Minimum stay
2 months for apartments. The lease is for 1 year and renews automatically with no fee (source)
Leaving
Cleaning fee of ¥25,000 to ¥50,000 taken from the deposit (source)
Register your address
Not stated
Languages
English and six other languages; no ward-office help (source)

“I did have to pay Fontana with cash, and they held a monthly deposit which was inconvenient if you're about to leave Japan after you check out.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, July 5, 2026

“However, they had much better WiFi, maybe because it was only shared with 1 other unit vs 5-6 units at my Sakura House building.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, July 5, 2026

Go to Fontana (Tokyo City Apartments)

Hmlet

1,500+ rooms in Tokyo and Osaka (source).

Hmlet publishes no prices on its own site. An agency listing its apartments showed ¥170,000 and up a month.

To move in, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address, Languages
To move in
A one-time service fee and cleaning fee; amounts not published (source)
Deposit
None; no key money, agency fee or guarantor (source)
Each month
Utilities and Wi-Fi included in the monthly fee (source)
Minimum stay
1 month; up to 12 months (source)
Leaving
Not stated
Register your address
Yes, stated on its site (source)
Languages
Bilingual staff, English support (source)

Go to Hmlet

Leopalace

Nationwide (source).

Furnished 1-room apartments in Tokyo had a median rent of ¥96,000 on a lease when we sampled its listings on October 9, 2026.

To move in, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address, Languages
To move in
¥234,705 in its own lease example at ¥50,000 rent, plus a guarantee company fee (source)
Deposit
None; key money varies by property (source)
Each month
Monthly contracts include utilities and internet; on a lease you pay them yourself (source)
Minimum stay
30 days on a monthly contract (up to 365); leases run over 1 year (source)
Leaving
Cleaning fee ¥52,250 or more, paid at signing; 1 month's rent if you leave a lease within a year (source)
Register your address
Not stated
Languages
Phone support in English, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese and Vietnamese, 10:00 to 18:30 (source)

Ask Leopalace about a furnished room

Japanese button: “If you are starting to live on your own, Leopalace21” Opens Leopalace21's site (Japanese; English version too)

Read our Leopalace review

Oakhouse

133 houses it runs, 4,546 rooms, mostly in Greater Tokyo (source).

Oakhouse apartments have their own kitchen and bathroom. Median ¥102,000 a month including utilities, across 413 apartments on October 9, 2026.

To move in, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address, Languages
To move in
¥50,000 contract fee, not refunded, plus the first month and a ¥2,200 bed pad (source)
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor at houses Oakhouse runs (source)
Each month
Rent plus a ¥10,000 to ¥22,000 common fee covering utilities up to a cap, and free internet (source)
Minimum stay
1 month; leases of 1 to 6 months, no renewal. 1 month's notice, no penalty (source)
Leaving
No fixed fee; damage and cigarette smell are charged (source)
Register your address
Its guide says residents register; no house-by-house policy published (source)
Languages
Messages 24 hours in English, Japanese, Korean, Chinese and French (source)

See Oakhouse apartments and rooms

Opens Oakhouse's site (Japanese; English version too)

Read our Oakhouse review

Sakura House

Tokyo, plus some Kyoto; no Osaka locations (source).

Prices are per apartment on its site; one featured on its home page was a 32 m² apartment at ¥240,000 a month.

To move in, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address, Languages, Renter quotes
To move in
No agency fee; 30% of the first month to reserve (source)
Deposit
None; no key money or guarantor (source)
Each month
One stay fee covering rent, utilities, internet and furniture (source)
Minimum stay
1 month in general; 1 month's notice to leave (source)
Leaving
1 month's notice; clean the room and leave the key inside by 11:00. No move-out fee stated (source)
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ (source)
Languages
English-speaking staff; online form in 9 languages (source)

“I used both Sakura House and Fontana Tokyo City Apartments for monthly studios in 2025-2026. Similar apartments and didn't have an issue with either.”

Reddit, r/movingtojapan, July 5, 2026

Go to Sakura House

XROSS HOUSE

About 1,600 properties with 2,900 rooms in September 2026, furnished apartments and share houses, mostly Tokyo, also Osaka, Nagoya and Fukuoka (source).

Median rent ¥77,000 a month in Tokyo, lowest ¥57,000, across 919 apartments on October 9, 2026, before utilities. Facts below are for its apartments; its share houses have different fees.

To move in, Deposit, Each month, Minimum stay, Leaving, Register your address, Languages
To move in
¥50,000, or ¥30,000 under the current campaign, not refunded, plus a guarantee company's fee (source)
Deposit
None; no key money or agency fee (source)
Each month
Rent plus a ¥1,500 support fee; you set up utilities and internet yourself (source)
Minimum stay
1 month; 1-year fixed-term lease, 1 month's notice (source)
Leaving
¥55,000 whenever you leave (source)
Register your address
Yes, stated in its FAQ (source)
Languages
8 languages including English, Vietnamese and Nepali; open every day (source)

See XROSS HOUSE apartments

Japanese button: “Deposit, key money and agency fee all ¥0 [Cross One Room]” Opens XROSS HOUSE's site (Japanese)

Read our XROSS HOUSE review

A listing site for monthly apartments

How we checked

Every fee and rule is from the operator's own pages, read on September 18, 2026, each linked. Prices for Leopalace, Oakhouse and XROSS HOUSE come from our own counts of their listings, dated above. Renter quotes are from Reddit, each linked to the comment.

Leopalace, Oakhouse and XROSS HOUSE have affiliate programs we joined. Their buttons on this page are A8.net affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you sign up through them. None of the other operators or sites here pay us. Read our editorial policy.

Furnished apartments in Tokyo: FAQ

How much is a furnished apartment in Tokyo per month?

It depends on the operator. XROSS HOUSE's median Tokyo rent was ¥77,000 before utilities, Oakhouse apartments ¥102,000 with utilities, and Leopalace's furnished Tokyo rooms ¥96,000 on a lease. Serviced apartments such as Hmlet start around ¥170,000.

Can I rent a furnished apartment in Tokyo for one month?

Yes, at Hmlet, Oakhouse, Sakura House and XROSS HOUSE, and for 30 days at Leopalace on a monthly contract. Fontana's minimum is 2 months. At XROSS HOUSE, a 1-month stay still pays the ¥55,000 exit fee.

Do furnished apartments in Tokyo need a guarantor?

None of these operators asks an adult tenant for a personal guarantor; Hmlet says students may need a parent's guarantee. Leopalace and XROSS HOUSE require a rent-guarantee company, which charges its own fee.

Can I register my address at a furnished apartment?

Hmlet, Sakura House and XROSS HOUSE say so on their sites. Oakhouse's guide says residents register. The others don't state it, so ask before you book if you need the address for your residence card.