Moving in · Updated October 2026
Guarantor companies in Japan for foreigners
A guarantor company takes the place of a Japanese guarantor on your lease, and you pay it a fee. You usually cannot choose it: the property owner or the real estate agency does. Of the seven companies below, GTN and JID publish a first-year fee, and GTN's figure is a special rate on a university sheet. Every other cell says Not stated, which does not mean free.
On this page
Can I choose my guarantor company?
Usually not. Kobe University tells its students that the final decision on the guarantor company is made by the property owner or the real estate agency (Kobe University sheet, November 2025).
The companies say the same about how you apply. Nihon Safety says to contact a real estate company that handles its system (Nihon Safety). Casa takes your application at the real estate company, then screens you (Casa). JID and iSmile also take applications through the agency (JID, iSmile), and GTN's sheet for Kyushu University students says to apply through an agency that partners with GTN (GTN sheet).
So the useful question for the agent is which company they use for your room. Then look it up below, and ask for the fee in writing, because most of these companies print no price for tenants.
How much does a guarantor company charge?
GTN and JID price the first-year fee as a share of one month's rent: 30% to 100% on GTN's sheet for Tokyo University of the Arts students, a special rate for that school, and from 30% at JID. The other five publish no price to tenants. J-LEASE's English leaflet leaves the amounts blank for the agency to fill in (J-LEASE leaflet).
| Company | First-year fee | Yearly fee after that | If you cancel or move out | If rent is late |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GTNGlobal Trust Networks Co., Ltd. | 30% to 100% of the total monthly rent (rent plus maintenance fees), at least ¥15,000A special rate: GTN's sheet for Tokyo University of the Arts students says they are eligible for this service at a special rate, so it is not GTN's general price. A Kobe University sheet from November 2025 shows 30% for its students.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | ¥10,000 a year, or ¥1,000 or more a month, from the second yearSame sheet.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not stated | Not stated |
| CasaCasa Inc. | Not stated | Not stated | No refund by month or by day when you cancelSource page, read October 3, 2026 | ¥1,000 including tax if it has to chase an unpaid rent after the due dateSource page, read October 3, 2026 |
| JIDJapan Rental Guarantee Co., Ltd. (日本賃貸保証) | From 30% of the rentSource page, read October 3, 2026 | A renewal fee exists, debited with the rent in the renewal month on its collection-agency plans; amount not givenSource page, read October 3, 2026 | No refund if you move out partway throughSource page, read October 3, 2026 | ¥550 including tax to re-bill when a bank debit failsSource page, read October 3, 2026 |
| Nihon SafetyNihon Safety Co., Ltd. (日本セーフティー) | No price list for tenants. ¥10,000 on a sheet for Hitotsubashi University students onlyA special fee for those students, for one person renting a home with a total monthly payment of ¥100,000 or less. The sheet carries no date; its web address shows January 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Renewed every year, with a fee each time; amount not given (¥10,000 on the Hitotsubashi sheet)Source page, read October 3, 2026 | Not returned, even if you cancel within the guarantee periodSource page, read October 3, 2026 | Not stated |
| J-LEASEJ-Lease Corporation (ジェイリース) | Not printed: its English leaflet leaves the amounts blank for the real estate agency to fill inEnglish leaflet for tenants, edition April 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | The contract renews every year with a renewal fee; amount blank in the leafletEnglish leaflet for tenants, edition April 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Basically not returned once the contract is signedEnglish leaflet for tenants, edition April 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | ¥2,970 including tax if it pays your rent for you after a late paymentEnglish leaflet for tenants, edition April 2022, in its example of a ¥40,000 rent.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| ZenhorenZenhoren Co., Ltd. (全保連) | Not stated | A yearly renewal fee exists and is exempt from consumption tax; amount not givenSource page, read October 3, 2026 | Not stated | Not stated |
| iSmileiSyncrent Corporation (アイ・シンクレント) | Not stated | On its monthly plan you pay the guarantee fee only for the months you live there; amount not givenSource page, read October 3, 2026 | Not stated | Not stated |
Not stated means the pages we read do not say. It does not mean the company charges nothing. Each cell links the page or sheet it comes from, with the date we read it. GTN's figures are from the sheet GTN gave Tokyo University of the Arts students in October 2024, which calls them a special rate for that school's students and includes maintenance fees in the monthly rent. Nihon Safety's ¥10,000 is a special fee on a sheet for Hitotsubashi University students; the sheet carries no date, and its web address shows January 2023.
What GTN's range means in yen
At a total monthly rent of ¥70,000, 30% to 100% is ¥21,000 to ¥70,000 for the first year, then ¥10,000 a year. That is our arithmetic on the special rate on the Tokyo University of the Arts sheet, not a quote and not GTN's general price. A Kobe University sheet from November 2025 shows GTN charging that school's students 30%, at least ¥15,000, then ¥10,000 a year (Kobe sheet), so what you pay depends on the property and the arrangement.
None of these companies promises a refund. JID and Nihon Safety say the fee is not returned, Casa makes no refund by month or by day, and J-LEASE says the fee is basically not returned once the contract is signed. GTN, Zenhoren and iSmile do not say on the pages we read.
Which guarantor companies accept foreigners, and in what language?
All seven accept foreign residents, with conditions. Languages come from the sheets each company gave the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (the Ministry). Each sheet is a checklist the company filled in itself, so "ticked" below means the company ticked it. The sheets carry update dates from 2022 to 2024.
| Company | Foreign nationals: what you need | Languages besides Japanese | Extra charge for language support | Guarantee contract in other languages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GTNGlobal Trust Networks Co., Ltd. | No Japanese guarantor and no Japanese level neededSource page, read October 3, 2026 | 18 languages besides Japanese, including English, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese; in person, by video or voice call, email and social mediaGTN's sheet to the Ministry, updated 24 April 2024.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | GTN says its multilingual service is free, in every planGTN's April 2024 sheet to the Ministry ticks yes for a charge besides the guarantee fee when you use language support. The two do not match, so ask which services cost extra.Source page, read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. Its sheet does tick the move-in guide, the application form and result notice, the after-move-in handbook and noticesGTN's sheet to the Ministry, updated 24 April 2024.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| CasaCasa Inc. | Foreign nationals can apply; the emergency contact must be an adult who lives in Japan and speaks JapaneseSource page, read October 3, 2026 | 11 languages besides Japanese, including English, Chinese and Korean; by voice call onlyCasa's sheet to the Ministry, updated 21 December 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | None, according to its sheetCasa's sheet to the Ministry, updated 21 December 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. It lists only a translation-center flyerCasa's sheet to the Ministry, updated 21 December 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| JIDJapan Rental Guarantee Co., Ltd. (日本賃貸保証) | Open to anyone whatever the job, age or nationalitySource page, read October 3, 2026 | At least 13 languages besides Japanese, including English, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese; all handled in-houseJID's sheet to the Ministry, updated 9 March 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | None, according to its sheetJID's sheet to the Ministry, updated 9 March 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. It lists only e-contract procedure documentsJID's sheet to the Ministry, updated 9 March 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| Nihon SafetyNihon Safety Co., Ltd. (日本セーフティー) | No limit by nationality, age or job if you can pay the monthly rentSource page, read October 3, 2026 | 9 languages besides Japanese, including English, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese; by voice callNihon Safety's sheet to the Ministry, updated 22 February 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | None, according to its sheetNihon Safety's sheet to the Ministry, updated 22 February 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. It lists only its websiteNihon Safety's sheet to the Ministry, updated 22 February 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| J-LEASEJ-Lease Corporation (ジェイリース) | Foreign nationals send a residence card for screeningEnglish leaflet for tenants, edition April 2022. It also warns that you can fail the screening.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | 21 languages besides Japanese, including English, Chinese and Korean; by voice call, email and social mediaJ-LEASE's sheet to the Ministry, updated 13 March 2023. Its own page says the 24-language call center is only for customers on a plan that includes it.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | None, according to its sheetJ-LEASE's sheet to the Ministry, updated 13 March 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. Its sheet ticks the move-in guide, notices and a pre-contract documentJ-LEASE's sheet to the Ministry, updated 13 March 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| ZenhorenZenhoren Co., Ltd. (全保連) | Foreign nationals can apply only if they already live in Japan when they apply; send a copy of the residence cardSource page, read October 3, 2026 | English, Chinese and Korean; voice call, email and social media, all in-houseZenhoren's sheet to the Ministry, updated 22 December 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | None, according to its sheetZenhoren's sheet to the Ministry, updated 22 December 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. It ticks no translated documentsZenhoren's sheet to the Ministry, updated 22 December 2022.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
| iSmileiSyncrent Corporation (アイ・シンクレント) | Foreign nationals need an emergency contact who understands Japanese; a language school, employer or another foreign national is fineSource page, read October 3, 2026 | 6 languages besides Japanese: English and Portuguese by voice, email and social media; German, French, Korean and Chinese by voiceiSyncrent's sheet to the Ministry, updated 28 February 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | None, according to its sheetiSyncrent's sheet to the Ministry, updated 28 February 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 | Not ticked. It ticks no translated documentsiSyncrent's sheet to the Ministry, updated 28 February 2023.Source (PDF), read October 3, 2026 |
Conditions to plan for: Zenhoren takes foreign nationals only if they already live in Japan when they apply, so you cannot apply from abroad (Zenhoren FAQ). Casa and iSmile need an emergency contact who speaks Japanese (Casa, iSmile). Nihon Safety asks for a copy of your residence card and a home-country emergency contact form on its own format (Nihon Safety). Its undated sheet for Hitotsubashi University students also asks for an emergency contact who lives in Japan and speaks Japanese (Hitotsubashi sheet).
Casa receives applications made by 17:00 the same day and usually answers the same day or the next (Casa FAQ). GTN's sheet for Kyushu University students says screening is available before you arrive in Japan (GTN sheet, January 2022).
If you are refused, expect no reason. Casa, JID and Zenhoren each say they do not disclose why (Casa, JID, Zenhoren). The answer comes through the agent.
Is the guarantee contract available in English?
None of the seven sheets ticks a translated guarantee contract. GTN ticks a translated move-in guide, application form and result notice, after-move-in handbook and notices. J-LEASE ticks a move-in guide, notices and a pre-contract document. Casa lists a translation-center flyer, and Zenhoren and iSmile tick no translated documents. The sheets are the companies' own reports from 2022 to 2024, so ask the agent how the contract will be explained to you before you sign.
Does language support cost extra?
On their sheets to the Ministry, Casa, JID, Nihon Safety, J-LEASE, Zenhoren and iSmile all answer no. GTN's sheet from April 2024 ticks yes for a charge besides the guarantee fee when you use language support (GTN sheet to the Ministry), while GTN's own page says its multilingual service is free in every plan (GTN page). The two do not match, so ask which services cost extra. J-LEASE's 24-language call center is only for customers on a plan that includes it (J-LEASE page).
Paying by credit card
iSmile lets you pay rent by credit card and says that with a card no joint guarantor is needed (iSmile). JID no longer takes credit card payments (JID). The agent decides which payment method your plan allows.
What should I check in a guarantor company contract?
Registration with the Ministry is voluntary, so a company can guarantee rent without it (Ministry page). The Ministry lists 52 registered companies that give foreigners language support, as of 30 September 2026 (Ministry list). All seven on this page are on it.
On 12 December 2022 the Supreme Court barred a clause that lets a guarantor company end your lease without notice, with no limit, when rent is late. The Ministry tells tenants to read their contract for it (Ministry page). Check three things before you sign: the fee and what it renews at, whether any of it is returned, and the charge if rent is late.
Can I rent without a guarantor company?
Some operators rent furnished rooms with no guarantor and no guarantor company. Oakhouse asks for an emergency contact instead, normally a parent, who can live abroad (Oakhouse help center). Our Oakhouse review has its fees. Sakura House also asks for no guarantor; see the Sakura House review. Other operators are on share houses in Tokyo. For the first weeks, the moving-in checklist lists what else to do.
How we checked
Fees and rules come from each company's own site, read on October 3, 2026, or from a sheet the company gave a university or the Ministry. GTN's range is from sheets for university students (Tokyo University of the Arts, October 2024, which calls it a special rate; Kobe University, November 2025), not a general price list, and Nihon Safety's ¥10,000 is for Hitotsubashi University students only, on a sheet that carries no date (its web address shows January 2023). J-LEASE's leaflet is the April 2022 edition. Several company pages are in Japanese; we read them in Japanese. Language data comes from the Ministry's list, dated 30 September 2026, and each company's sheet carries its own, older update date. We have not used any of these companies, so there are no ratings.
We have no agreement with any company on this page, and no link here earns us anything. Read our editorial policy.
Guarantor company FAQ
Can foreigners use a guarantor company in Japan?
Yes. All seven companies on this page accept foreign residents. Zenhoren accepts you only if you already live in Japan when you apply. Casa and iSmile need an emergency contact who speaks Japanese, and Nihon Safety asks for a home-country emergency contact form.
How much does GTN charge?
On the sheet GTN gave Tokyo University of the Arts students, which calls it a special rate for that school, the first-year fee is 30% to 100% of the total monthly rent, at least ¥15,000, then ¥10,000 a year or ¥1,000 or more a month. A Kobe University sheet from November 2025 shows 30%. GTN publishes no general price list for tenants.
Can I choose my guarantor company?
Usually not. Kobe University tells its students that the property owner or the real estate agency makes the final choice. Nihon Safety, Casa, JID and iSmile each say you apply through the real estate agency.
Do I get the guarantor fee back if I move out early?
Four of the seven say no refund or close to it. JID and Nihon Safety say the fee is not returned, Casa makes no refund by month or by day, and J-LEASE says it is basically not returned once the contract is signed. GTN, Zenhoren and iSmile do not say on the pages we read.
Which guarantor companies have English support?
All seven list English on the sheets they gave the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism. GTN lists 18 languages and J-LEASE 21, but J-LEASE says its call center is only for customers on a plan that includes it. Casa lists voice calls only, and Zenhoren lists English, Chinese and Korean.
Do I need an emergency contact in Japan?
At Casa, yes: an adult who lives in Japan and speaks Japanese. iSmile asks for an emergency contact who understands Japanese, and accepts a language school, an employer or another foreign national. Nihon Safety asks for a home-country emergency contact form, and its undated sheet for Hitotsubashi University students asks for an emergency contact who lives in Japan and speaks Japanese. GTN's 2022 sheet for Kyushu University students asks for one parent and one friend or acquaintance who lives in Japan. JID, J-LEASE and Zenhoren do not say on the pages we read.
Is the guarantor contract available in English?
None of the seven companies ticks a translated guarantee contract on its sheet to the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (2022 to 2024). GTN does tick a translated application form, result notice, move-in guide and notices. Ask the agent how the contract will be explained to you before you sign.
Set Up in Japan is an independent guide, not any of these companies' site.